Scroll to content

Grange Park Infant and Nursery School

Working Together

Contact Us

Early Years Foundation Stage (3 to 5 years old)

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a distinct phase of education for children aged 3-5. It is taught in Nursery and Reception. It has its own Curriculum Guidance which sets out seven basic areas of learning, which are:


  • personal, social and emotional development
  • communication and language
  • literacy development
  • mathematical development
  • knowledge and understanding of the world
  • physical development
  • creative development


Each area has a set of related early learning goals which the children are expected to work towards by the age of five. Some children may achieve beyond the early learning goals; when they do this they access the Key Stage 1 phase where relevant.